

UVAS Debating Society

Inter-Departmental Trilingual Declamation Contest 2024 Spring festival 2K24 Venue : UVAS Auditorium



Annexure-I

Event: Mastodonia'24

Inter-Departmental Trilingual Declamation CompetitionVenue:

Auditorium

Date: 6th March, 2024

Team Formation

Each participating department will be allowed for one team comprising of three speakers covering all three linguistic categories (covering both serious or humorous mode) and two individual speakers. Team trophy will be awarded for teams aggregate (individual participation will not be considered for team trophy).

Degree	Individual Participation	Team Formation
D.V.M.	2	1
Pharm. D.	2	1
BS. Microbiology/MLT	2	1
BS. Environmental Sciences	2	1
Food Science & Human Nutrition	2	1
BS. Biotechnology & BS. Biochemistry	2	1
BS. Biological Sciences	2	1
MBA & BBA	2	1
Post Graduates	2	1

Prize Category

The team that gains the maximum aggregate points will get the team trophy (on trilingual base). Top three positions in Urdu, Punjabi and English category will be announced for individual shields. A consolation prize may also be provided. Speakers from UVAS, Lahore, participating in the contest, will not compete for the prizes.

Annexure-II

Organizing Team

President: M. Izhan Siddique

Vice President: Esha Jamshed,

Merriam Habib

General Secretary (Declamation): Marwa Bakht Aali

Management Head: M. Raza Safdar, Asma Akram,

Noor e Hussain

Media Head: Rida Tahir,

Dania Waseem

Department coordinators:

Microbiology	M. Hamza saeed	
DVM	Murtaza Mehdi	
IBBT	Taimoor Sikandar	
DND	Rana Arqam	
IPS	Meerab Saleem	
MBA/BBA	M. Hassan	

Annexure-III

Topics for declamation

Urdu serious	Punjabi serious
	اج آکھاں وارث شاہ نوں کتھوں ۆبراں وچوں بول ہکو رنگ دا کفن نے بکو جٹناں ۆبراں پتھر ذہن گالب نِئ ہندے
Urdu humor	Punjabi humor
دل _ن ا ام ^ی د نو ن‱ ناکام ہی نو دے	
کچھ عرصہ پارے کی بات ہے	عشق کر کے کی کمانا وے
بجٹ م ^ی ں _{نن} ے دیکھے تین سارے	نو لوڼگ نے م ^ی ں الچی پردھان جی م ^ی نوں آگھن دیو
	ہم جو نار کک راہوں مکن مارے گگئے تمام مضمون مکرے پر ان کالم مکر ا خطا سر اپا ان کنابوں نے بڑا ظلم ککا نے مجھ پر لار امکد نو نکن ناکام مک نو دے کچھ عرصہ پارے کی بات دے بجٹ مکن نے دیکھے کن سارے

Annexure-IV

Rules of Participation

- 1. Each participating department is to be represented by ONE team comprising of three speakers only, one to speak in Urdu, one in Punjabi and one in English. One of the speakers is to speak on serious topic and the other on a humorous one. Two individuals from each department are also allowed. Previous winners of spring competition are NOT allowed to speak.
- 2. A speaker may agree or disagree with the topic. The subject matter of the speech based on the logical interpretation of the topic will carry maximum credit in terms of marks. Mere rhetorical content, which is devoid of relevance with the topic and lacks novelty of ideas, will be strongly discouraged. Content from social media is not allowed.
- 3. A speaker will speak for a minimum of 3 minutes and maximum of 5 minutes. Marks will be deducted for failing to observe the stipulated time limit.
- 4. A speaker making offensive remarks about any important personage or passing controversial religious, political or sectarian remarks shall be immediately disqualified. Using word/ sentences with any indecent connotation and passing derogatory remarks against the chair will lead to instant disqualification of the speaker. In such an event, the speaker may asked to step down from the rostrum during the speech.
- 5. The speakers will be judged on the content of their speeches, their proficiency of respective language and the response of audience.
- 6. Paper reading is not allowed. Those who do so will be disqualified.
- 7. Speakers should refrain from using excessive Urdu in their English speeches and vice versa.
- 8. The team that gains the maximum aggregate points will get the team trophy (on trilingual base). Top three positions in Urdu, Punjabi and English category will be announced for individual shields. A consolation prize may also be provided.
- 9. The decision of the judges will be final.

Adjudication Panel

- Dr. Maryam Javed
- Dr. Rehan ul Haq
- Maham Zahra
- Miss Uzma
- Miss Arooba
- Zoonish Rana
- Muhammad Usama
- Khadijah Asif